Do Not Own The Land
If you own a mobile home but not the land upon which it sits, you are still required to be registered with a current mobile home decal at all times, even when unoccupied. Failure to do so could result in a costly tangible personal property tax assessment by the Property Appraiser's Office.
Annual mobile home decals will be valid through December 31 of each year. One decal is issued for each mobile home. In the case of a double wide or a triple wide, a decal is issued for each section. The fee to register a mobile home is determined by the length of the home:
- Through 35' $31.85
- 36' - 40' $36.85
- 41' - 45' $41.85
- 46' - 50' $46.85
- 51' - 55' $51.85
- 56' - 60' $56.85
- 61' - 65' $61.85
- Over 65' $91.85
Title Application On A New Mobile Home
Title Application On An Out-Of-State Mobile Home
Home & Land Ownership
When the owner of a mobile home also owns the land upon which the mobile home is permanently affixed, a Real Property (RP) decal is required. The RP decal has no expiration date and is permanent as long as the mobile home is not moved. If you currently have a regular mobile home decal and own the land upon which your mobile home is affixed, do not renew your mobile home decal. Instead, contact the St. Lucie County Property Appraiser's Office to have your mobile home declared real property.
Declaration of Real Property
A declaration of real property must be issued by the Property Appraiser's Office before the tax collector’s office can issue an RP decal. To apply for an RP decal, you will need to submit proof of ownership, the current registration and the declaration of real property to the either office location. The cost of an RP decal is $5.10.
Retiring the Title
Mobile home owners who own both their mobile home and the real property it sits on have the option of retiring the title (changing from a Department of Motor Vehicle issued title to a warranty deed). Once the title is retired and the deed is issued, future transfers will be via deeds instead of the old application for Florida title.
Courtesy Renewal Notices
Please note that Florida law does not provide for mobile home registration renewal notices and failure to receive a renewal notice by mail does not relieve the mobile home owner of the their responsibility to timely renew their mobile home registration and decal.
The tax collector provides renewal notices as a courtesy to resident mobile home owners. The courtesy renewal notices are mailed prior to the annual registration expiration date.