- Department of Motor Vehicle Services
- Handicap Placards
Disabled persons must have either a current Florida driver license or a Florida identification (ID) card.
Long-Term Disabled Person Handicap Placards
A long-term disabled person parking placard is available to individuals who need it in the state of Florida. Click here for more information on which conditions qualify for disabled parking permits according to Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
- The disability must be certified by:
- Adjudication Office of the United States Department of Veterans Affairs
- Chiropractor or optometrist
- Florida Department of Veterans Affairs
- Florida Division of Blind Services
- Osteopathic physician
- APRN - Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (licensed under Chapter 464)
- United States Veterans Administration
- Florida or out-of-state physician
Long-term permits are issued for a period of four years and expire on the disabled person's birthday.
Individuals seeking the long-term parking placard must submit a completed application (a 83039 dated June 1998 or later). There is no fee. Disabled Parking Permit Applications (PDF) may be obtained at the tax collector’s office.
For out-of-state physicians, they must be licensed to practice under Chapters 458, 459 or 460, Florida Statutes, or similarly licensed by another state. NOTE: Documentation of the physician's licensure in the other state must be submitted with a signed statement verifying the physician's knowledge of Florida's eligibility guidelines (s. 320.0848(1)(b)2., 2, Florida Statutes).
Temporary Disabled Person Parking Placards
Temporary disabled person parking placards are available to any individual with a temporary disability. This has to be certified by a Florida or out-of-state physician, osteopathic physician, chiropractor, optometrist, the Florida Division of Blind Services, or the Adjudication Office of the U.S. Veterans Administration.
Individuals seeking the temporary parking placard must submit a completed application (a 83039 dated June 1998 or later), along with a $15 fee. The permit may be valid as determined by your physician not to exceed six months. Applications may be obtained at the tax collector’s office or below.
Knowingly providing false information on an application to obtain a disabled parking placard is a misdemeanor of the first degree, with a penalty for up to 1 year in jail and/or a fine of $1,000.