Florida law requires that all motorized vessels be titled and registered.
To title and register a boat in the applicant's name, please bring the following items to either office location:
- New boats:
- A Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (MCO) form must be completed by the selling dealer and bill of sale or dealer invoice listing the purchase price, sales tax paid and trade-in allowance.
- Please note that additional sales tax may be due.
- Used boats:
- The title must be properly completed for transfer by the seller.
Note: Every person applying for ownership on a new or used vessel must sign the title or the application for certificate of title, or they must be present in our office to sign the application and provide personal identification.
- Sales tax must be paid unless the transaction is exempt.
- Title application fees range from $8.25 to $14.25 depending on the type of transaction.
- Registrations are renewed annually. Boat registrations will be issued to expire annually during the birth month of the first owner listed on the registration. For company-owned boats, the expiration date is June 30.
Courtesy Renewal Notices
Please note that Florida law does not provide for boat registration renewal notices. The St. Lucie County Tax Collector does provide renewal notices as a courtesy to resident boat owners. The courtesy renewal notices are mailed approximately three weeks prior to the month in which the registration expires. Failure to receive a renewal notice by mail does not relieve the boat owner of the their responsibility to renew their boat registration in a timely manner.
Individuals operating a motorized vessel without a current registration are subject to be cited for a non-criminal infraction.